Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences

Promoting and advancing molecular understanding of biology

Doing the Double-Double by 2019.
Petition to double open operating grants.

CSMB Photo
Canadian Science Publishing Senior Investigator Award
(Next awarded 2019)

This award is offered annually starting 2012. It recognizes a record of outstanding achievement in research in one or more of the fields of biochemistry, molecular or cellular biology or genetics undertaken in Canada by a Canadian scientist (a Canadian citizen or a landed immigrant). Beginning in 2017, this has been combined with the previously separate Grant and Moens Award for Excellence in Genetics. There are no age or experience restrictions. The nomination procedures are identical to those for the Young Investigator Award. The awardee will deliver a lecture at the Annual Conference and submit a manuscript for publication in the CSMB BULLETIN. 

Previous winners of this award

1981 M. Smith

1984 N. Hozum  

1985 H. Schachter  

1987 M. Gray

1989 D. Vance  

1991 J. Riordan  

1993 M. Chrétien

1995 R.S. Hodges

1997 A. J. Pawson

1999 G. Chaconas

2001 F. Doolittle

2003 V. Ling

2005 C. Bleackley

2007 N. Sonenberg

2009 Hans Vogel    

2011 Benjamin J. Blencowe

2012 M. Bouvier

2013 B. Chabot

2014 James McGhee

 2015 Michael James

 2016 Gerry Wright

2017 Sergio Grinstein

 2018 Richard Rachubinski


Previous winners of this award

GSC Award of Excellence Winners, first given in 1976

1976 Newcombe, H.B. 

1977 Sears, E.R. 

1978 Fredeen, H.T.

1979 Butler, L.

1980 Fraser, F.C.

1981 Mortimer, R.K.

1982 Person, C.O.

1983 von Borstel, R.C.

1984 Chown, B.

1985 Moens, P.B.

1986  James, A.P.

1987 Kafer, E.

1988 Smith, Michael

1989  Kuspira, J.

1990 Tsui, Lap-Chee

1991 Doolittle, W.F.

1992 Scriver, C.R.

1993 Haynes, R.H.

1994 Kasha, K.

1995 Cox, D.W.

1996 Walden, D.B.

1997 Griffiths, A.J.F.

1998 Bernstein, Allen

1999 Bussey, Howard

2000 Culotti, Joseph

2001 Hayden, Michael

2002 Baillie, David

2003 Morgan, Ken

In 2004 the award was renamed the William F Grant and Peter B Moens Award of Excellence

2004 Lasko, Paul

2005  Hilliker, Arthur

2006 Hegele, Robert

2007 Sokolowski, Marla

2008 Singh, Shiva

2009 Golding, Brian       

2010  Singh, Rama


2012 Phillips, John


Contact Us
17 Dossetter Way,
Ottawa, ON K1G 4S3

Tel. (613) 421 7229
Fax. (613) 421 9811