Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences

Promoting and advancing molecular understanding of biology

Doing the Double-Double by 2019.
Petition to double open operating grants.

CSMB Photo
@import url(/styles/main.css);
Grant and Moens Award of Excellence In Genetics

(Next awarded 2017)

 1. Purpose of the Award

The Award provides collective, formal recognition by the membership of the CSMB for the excellent and distinguishing contribution(s) of a professional geneticist to genetic research and/or teaching and to foster genetical excellence in Canada. It was initiated by the Genetics Society of Canada, which has now merged with the Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences (CSMB)

2. Categories of Genetical Excellence

  1. A contribution to genetical knowledge of outstanding distinction. Commonly, this would take the form of a published paper, monograph or book, reporting a contribution to knowledge of singular significance to the discipline (science) at large.
  2. (i) Recognition of the cumulative, distinguished contributions of a senior investigator in Canada or elsewhere.
    (ii) Recognition of an academic career of distinction in teaching and in inspiring students in a Canadian University at either or both undergraduate and graduate levels and in training geneticists to meet the basic and applied needs of genetics in Canada (and elsewhere).

3. Eligibility

Any professional geneticist in Canada or elsewhere is eligible for consideration. While geneticists from outside Canada may receive the Award, this should not occur more often than every second year. In order to foster genetical excellence in Canada, the recipient of the Award will be invited to give a special lecture at a CSMB Annual Conference.

4. Procedures

The following documentation will be required for each candidate and should be sent to the General Secretary (indicated above):

  1. A Curriculum Vitae .
  2. A nomination letter submitted by an established authority of the merit of the contribution(s) where appropriate.

5. The Award

The Award will be a plaque including the CSMB and former GSC emblems and an inscription. It will be made annually during the banquet at a meeting of the CSMB or at the special lecture given by the Award winner at the CSMB Annual Conference.

Previous winners of this award

GSC Award of Excellence Winners, first given in 1976

1976 Newcombe, H.B. 

1977 Sears, E.R. 

1978 Fredeen, H.T.

1979 Butler, L.

1980 Fraser, F.C.

1981 Mortimer, R.K.

1982 Person, C.O.

1983 von Borstel, R.C.

1984 Chown, B.

1985 Moens, P.B.

1986  James, A.P.

1987 Kafer, E.

1988 Smith, Michael

1989  Kuspira, J.

1990 Tsui, Lap-Chee

1991 Doolittle, W.F.

1992 Scriver, C.R.

1993 Haynes, R.H.

1994 Kasha, K.

1995 Cox, D.W.

1996 Walden, D.B.

1997 Griffiths, A.J.F.

1998 Bernstein, Allen

1999 Bussey, Howard

2000 Culotti, Joseph

2001 Hayden, Michael

2002 Baillie, David

2003 Morgan, Ken

In 2004 the award was renamed the William F Grant and Peter B Moens Award of Excellence

2004 Lasko, Paul

2005  Hilliker, Arthur

2006 Hegele, Robert

2007 Sokolowski, Marla

2008 Singh, Shiva

2009 Golding, Brian       

2010  Singh, Rama


2012 Phillips, John


Contact Us
17 Dossetter Way,
Ottawa, ON K1G 4S3

Tel. (613) 421 7229
Fax. (613) 421 9811